Auto save of unsaved files
Up until a week ago I was able to close notepad++ without being asked to save unsaved files.
the next time I started it, all the unsaved files appeared in the editor, even after a shutdown.
I guess a new version took it away or made it a none default behavior.
Is there a setting I can change to bring it back?
I’m a bit confused what you’ve described as it sounds like it does what you want, anyway
the setting about automatic backup is under
I guess you are looking for Remember current session…
That is exactly what I missed.
YMMV but you may want to read about some users’ problems with data loss after leaving files “unsaved”: https://notepad-plus-plus.org/community/topic/13119/automatic-reset
I’ve been using unsaved files for forever, but recently when closing N++ I get a prompt: Save file “new 1”?
What changed? I already have “Remember current session” enabled in Preferences->Backup.
Is there a way to prevent it from prompting me to save unsaved files?
I noticed that today also after I upgraded to version 7.3.2. It didn’t force me to save modified files that previously had been saved, but my new1, new2, etc. files were forced to be saved. Probably not a big issue, since I should save them regularly anyway, but it is a change in functionality from the previous version.
Yes @glennfromiowa those are my symptoms exactly.
It’s like the new1, new2, … files are not being backed up, implying their changes would actually be lost if they are not saved when prompted.
Did something change with the session snapshot / periodic backups? Did a default setting change?